5 things I love most about Japan

So it was my first time in the land of the rising sun and I must say that I enjoyed my trip a lot! A lot more than I expected!

Here’s a list of the 5 things I love most about Japan:

  1. People
  • Japanese are so helpful, decent, modest and polite. I have never felt so welcome in a foreign country. They are all willing to extend help even if there is a communication barrier. They have definitely exceeded my expectation. No wonder Japan is known for helping other countries because its people have proven that they are genuinely helpful even as individuals. When I visited Japan, I felt important and taken care of by everyone everywhere.
  1. Weather
  • I went to Japan in the middle of October, autumn season. It was sunny but it wasn’t hot. Still needed to wear jackets. It’s like double the Christmas breeze in the Philippines. My uncle said that it was an indication that winter is coming. I also love the fact that they experience four seasons every year so they have all the different types of clothes. #fashion

 

  1. Food
  • I don’t eat sushi but Japan made me try it and it was awesome! Never ever leave Japan without trying their takoyaki, ramen, gyoza, sushi, matcha ice cream, egg tart, okonomiyaki, yakitori, and sukiyaki. The food is delicious, and well-prepared. You know that they are skilled. Prices of food varies on where you are going to eat but remember that it doesn’t mean that if you’re paying a lot means you’ll get the best.
  • The best place to experience food culture in Osaka is Dotonbori. You can find basically everything in there! The restaurants have big and unique signage to let people know their specialties and what they offer.
  1. Trains
  • Taxis in Japan are way too expensive and not recommendable and I don’t really mind taking the train and hopping from one train to another. I am amazed with Japan’s rail transport system. It makes travel from one place to another so convenient. I am also surprised that the trains were never late and always on the dot. Who wouldn’t love that?

 

  • All train stations have an information booth where you could ask an agent and ask for a map. Before I went to Japan, I was telling my parents that they should be ready to get lost because all of us have never been there but travelling in Japan is surprisingly easy. Maps had been my collection since day 1 of the trip.

 

  1. Toilets (*i don’t have my own photo of it tho)
  • HAHAHA! Yes, I love Japan’s high-tech toilets. This is one of the little things that simply delight. I’m not talking about the traditional toilets. I’m talking about the modernized toilet which has sounds if you’re doing something you need to focus on so-called pooping. Hahaha These toilets are referred to as the Washlet G. Mom wants to bring home one but I bet it’s so expensive as it is dubbed as one of Japan’s Mechanical Engineering Heritage which makes it as important as the country’s bullet train.

Photo c/o Google:

Y7CnjTD

Everything is lovable in Japan. I hope I can go back again soon. Maybe in Tokyo?

Love,

Neds

Leave a comment